About

So here’s the deal. I’m Emily. I am a 22 year old college student. I am studying to be a teacher and over the past 8 years I have also been learning Spanish. Now, I am taking a semester off of taking classes to teach some of my own. Currently, I am getting ready to set off on a three and a half month long adventure in South America. I will be teaching English, practicing my language skills, and learning about the Ecuadorian Culture.

Part of the reason I created this website is to let my close friends and family know what I will be doing each day during my trip. A.K.A. Letting my parents know my trip isn’t turning into “Taken 3”. For this reason, I will be trying to update this website as much as possible, even if it is just a short paragraph about something I noticed that day or a few pictures.

But, the other reason I decided to create this website was to document what it’s like to live abroad for an extended period of time. I will write about my experiences of being completely submersed in a culture different from my own. I will write about my experience finally getting to use the language skills I have been to trying to perfect for 8 years. I will write about my experiences teaching abroad. And, I will write about aspects of the Ecuadorian culture that I get to witness first hand.

I have been looking forward to traveling to Ecuador for years now, so seeing it all start to come together is extremely exciting and very surreal. I am nervous about many things, but ready to get started on my adventure.

Advertisements